Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness


RCPsych Awards 2016 - Winners

Video: Lifetime Achievement Award Winner, Professor Femi Oyebode



Winners of the Royal College of Psychiatrists Awards 2016 announced

The winners of this year’s Royal College of Psychiatrists Awards were announced yesterday afternoon (November 8), and each presented with their trophy.

The college hosted the ceremony - now in its eight year - at its own home in Prescot Street in the shadow of the Tower of London. Some 300 guests working in psychiatry and mental health attended.

Judges were hugely impressed by this year’s quality of entries received for each category of the award.

Musician, journalist and Church of England priest Columnist and presenter, The Reverend Richard Coles, hosted the awards. Reverend Coles expressed how delighted he was to be part of the College’s Awards.

Professor Sir Simon Wessely, President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists congratulated the shortlisted individuals and teams before the proceedings began.

Alastair Campbell, a writer and strategist who is a prominent ambassador for Mental Health Campaigns, presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Professor Femi Oyebode.

To end proceedings, Professor Sir Simon Wessely, President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists took part in an enthralling Q and A with Professor Oyebode.


And the winners are:


Lifetime Achievement Award

Professor Femi Oyebode.



  Professor Femi Oyebode

Medical student of the Year

Sarah Sturrock, Imperial College London

  Sarah Sturrock
Foundation Doctor (FY1 – FY2) of the Year

Dr Gopal Kotecha, Cambridgeshire and Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust
  Dr Gopal Kotecha
Core Psychiatric Trainee of the Year (CT1 – CT3)

Dr Karen Cocksedge, Cornwall Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  Dr Karen Cocksedge

Higher Psychiatric Trainee of the Year (ST4 – ST6 and SpR)

Dr John Tully, South London and Maudsley NHS Trust

  Dr John Tully
Service User / Patient Contributor of the Year

TEWV Experts by Experience Group

  TEWV Experts by Experience
Carer Contributor of the Year 

Jenny Langley

  Jenny Langley
Psychiatric Communicator of the Year

Dr Paul Blenkiron, Leeds Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

  Paul Blenkiron
Psychiatric Trainer of the Year

Dr Ian Hall, East London NHS Foundation Trust

  Dr Ian Hall
Academic Researcher of the Year

Dr Nusrat Husain, University of Manchester and Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust

  Dr Nusrat Husain
Specialty Doctor / Associate Specialist of the Year

Dr Alex Kitromilides, Camden and Islington NHS Foundation Trust

  Dr Alex Kitromilides
Psychiatrist of the Year

Dr Peter Aitken, Royal College of Psychiatrists
  Dr Peter Aitken
Psychiatric Team of the Year: Children and adolescents

Newham Front Door, Newham Child and Family Consultation Service

  Newham Front Door
Psychiatric Team of the Year: Working-age adults

Redbridge Home Treatment Team, North East London Foundation NHS Trust

Psychiatric Team of the Year: Older-age adults
North Tees Liaison Psychiatry Team, Tees Esk and Wear Valley Foundation Trust
  North Tees Liaison Psychiatry Team
Psychiatric Team of the Year: Non age-specific

Bradford Acute Care Services, Bradford District Care Foundation NHS Trust

  Bradford Acute Care
Psychiatric Team of the Year: Learning disability  

LPT Learning Disability Service, Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust

Psychiatric Team of the Year: Outstanding contribution to sustainability

Sustainable School Liaison, Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

  Sustainable School Liaison


Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation

RCPsych Awards