Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

College Centre for Quality Improvement



CCQI Service Quality and Accreditation Projects

The CCQI's quality and accreditation projects work with services to improve standards.  For information on what accreditation means, please see our information sheet

CCQI is working with the British Standards Institution to develop core standards for inpatient and community mental health services

Please choose your type of service or award:

Or, view all the projects below:

AIMS AIMS is a standards-based accreditation service designed to improve the quality of care in psychiatric wards. Standards are drawn from authoritative sources and cover all aspects of the inpatient journey. Compliance is measured by self- and peer-review. Accreditation is valid for up to 4 years, subject to an annual self-review. AIMS accredits acute and assessment wards for working age adults and wards for older people.
 Community of Communities Community of Communities is a standards-based quality improvement network bringing together Therapeutic Communities (TCs) in the UK and internationally. Member communities are located in Health, Education, Social Care and Prison settings. The network enables therapeutic communities to engage in service evaluation and quality improvement using methods and values that reflect their philosophy, specifically the belief that responsibility is best promoted through interdependence.
 Electroconvulsive Therapy Accreditation Service ECT Accreditation Service (ECTAS) is a standards-based accreditation service designed to improve the quality of the administration of electroconvulsive therapy. Feedback from clinics undertaking the accreditation process indicates that ECTAS has helped bring about widespread improvements in the provision of ECT, including investment in new equipment and better deployment of staff.
HTAS logo
Home Treatment Accreditation Scheme (HTAS) is a new standards-based accreditation service for crisis resolution and home treatment teams.  A pilot phase of this programme is open to services in 2012, with the scheme launching nationwide in 2013.
The Quality Network for Learning Disability Services is a standards-based quality network for inpatient learning disability services that provides an opportunity for them to share good practice and facilitate quality improvement.
Memory Services National Accreditation Programme (MSNAP) is a standards-based accreditation programme designed to improve the quality of care received by people with memory problems/dementia (specifically focusing on the process around the assessment and diagnosis of memory problems/dementia). The CCQI, in partnership with the National Institute for Mental Health in England (NIHME)/Care Services Improvement Partnership (CSIP) North West, first piloted this programme in the North West of England and due to the success, the programme became available nationwide from June 2009 and is currently open for membership.
Psychiatric Liaison Accreditation Network
Psychiatric Liaison Accreditation Network (PLAN) works with services to assure and improve the quality of psychiatric liaison in hospital settings, from referral systems, to meeting emergency and routine mental health needs.  It engages staff and service users in a comprehensive process of review, through which good practice and high quality care are recognised and services are supported to identify and address areas for improvement.
Quality Network for Community CAMHS Logo
Quality Network for Community CAMHS (QNCC) is a network that works with community-based child and adolescent mental health services, improving services for young people through a supportive, standards-based review process. A key focus of the network is the interface between CAMHS and other agencies involved in delivering care such as social services, education and the voluntary sector.
Quality Network for Inpatient CAMHS (QNIC) is a network for in-patient child and adolescent mental health services. Approximately 85-90% of units in the UK and Ireland are members and the network has recently expanded with services in Iceland, Norway and Turkey participating. QNIC demonstrates and improves the quality of child and adolescent psychiatric in-patient care through a system of review against service standards. The process is supportive and enables information sharing between services that can sometimes be isolated.
 Quality Network for Forensic Mental Health Services
Quality Network for Forensic Mental Health Services is the network that facilitates quality improvement and change in forensic mental health settings through peer-review. A fundamental principle is that of listening to and being led by frontline staff and service users. The model is one of engagement. The network identifies areas for improvement through a culture of openness and enquiry rather than of inspection or blame. The process breaks down isolation, promotes learning between services and supports local staff to improve their services in line with national guidance about best practice.
 Quality Network for Perinatal Mental Health Services Quality Network for Perinatal Mental Health Services is a peer-review network that works with in-patient mother and baby units. Standards have been developed in collaboration with perinatal professionals and service users. The network measures services’ performance against the standards and encourages quality improvement and information sharing between peers. The long term aim is to work with other perinatal mental health services such as outreach teams.
Enabling Environment
The Enabling Environments Award is a quality mark given to those who can demonstrate they are achieving an outstanding level of best practice in creating and sustaining a positive and effective social environment. The Enabling Environments Award is based on core values that contribute to healthy relationships. Through a standards-based accreditation program your organisation will be supported in providing evidence that you are achieving excellence in providing a healthy relational environment for all their participants.
Psychological Therapies Accreditation

The Accreditation Programme for Psychological Therapies Services is a new accreditation programme that works with psychological therapies services in the UK to assure and improve their quality. APPTS takes services through a supportive and engaging process of self and peer review to assess how each service is performing against an agreed set of quality standards.  As well as identifying and acknowledging services that have high standards, the programme shares best practice to facilitate service improvement and provides year-round support to help member services maximise opportunities for learning and development.

CCQI "accreditation" is the formal recognition of a service against clinical service standards using external peer review.  The United Kingdom Accreditation Service defines this as "certification".

Make a Donation

CARS Login



CARS is the College Accreditation and Review System. 

If you are a QNIC or APPTS service in the process of completing your self review, please log on